Happy Halloween! I hope everybody is enjoying the holiday with lots of candy, fun costumes, and pumpkins. That is my idea of a Halloween celebration. Well, I am sure many mothers are volunteering at trunk or treats at church, tame Halloween parties or fall festivals at their children’s schools. I know others may be taking pictures of their children dressed in costume. My mother took pictures of my sisters and me on Halloween night when we were all dressed in costume and excited to go trick or treating. Last year my older sister threw a Halloween party, and she filmed me singing along to What’s Love Got To Do With It. That is a story I will be more than happy to share when I have a different opportunity. Right now, I want you all to see what a blessing mothers are to society. Mothers raise successful individuals who have a lot to offer. It was a mother who raised Abraham Lincoln to be the sixteenth president of the United States of America. “All that I am, I owe to my mother.” He was once admitted. And he was very proud to do so. Who else raised Martin Luther King Jr., a civil rights activist, and Ben Carson, a brain surgeon? A mother. These women who probably made the biggest contributions to society, are undervalued. Why? I see a lot of value in the role as a mother, and so does Dr. Laura Schlessinger. She praises the most undervalued members of society in her book: “In Praise of Stay at Home Moms” as I indicated above. Thank you, Dr. Laura!

The purpose of this book is not to force conservative viewpoints on women or to convince a woman to forfeit her career to stay at home to raise her children. Instead Dr. Laura applauds and adulates the most undervalued and unappreciated members of society-stay-at-home mothers. Dr. Laura shows the many great rewards of motherhood through her own personal experiences as well as may other stay-at-home mothers. She and countless other women lovingly remember the smiles their children gave them, the silly behaviors of their children, and regular mother-child moments. Although Dr. Laura admits that there are some moments she wishes have never occurred, she is proud to say that being a mother is her greatest achievement.

I remember when I read this book for the very first time at the young adult age eighteen. I was moved by the heartwarming stories of motherhood. I was filled with a maternal longing. It was not until I read this book did I realize how strong my desire to be a mother was. This book is life changing. Many women who are Dr. Laura listeners and readers, as well as, former working mothers are glad to have made the decision to stay home and raise their children. I firmly believe that this book will benefit every woman as an individual. In fact, this book has merely fueled my desires to be a mother.

Dr. Laura reveals society’s opposing viewpoints towards motherhood. Her primary examples are mainly feminists who argue that motherhood strips a woman of her identity. I have one simple question: “How so?” Of course the opponents respond: “Motherhood

has no purpose and shows that a woman lacks ambition.” The book shows how it is a purposeful dream and a highly ambitious goal. You don’t only love and care for a child, and have his or her best interests at heart. You are also raising a successful individual. You are making an enormous contribution to society. Moreover, you are your child’s nurturer, best friend, cook, chauffuer, caregiver, supporter, and teacher. Yes, it is possible to hire a maid to clean your home and a chef to cook your meals just so you don’t have add to your list of responsibilities that await you after a long day at work. As a working mother you do have options for child care such as hiring a nanny or sending your child to a day care center. Rest assured your child will be fed and under adult supervision. But how can your child learn the morals and values that you wish to impart on him? How is a child supposed to feel loved by you? Last but not least, will a child benefit from the love or care from her own mother or the daily supervision of a day care worker? This is all good food for thought Dr. Laura provides for all female readers. Dr. Laura raised her own child; therefore she knows the benefits and rewards of motherhood.

I want to thank Dr. Laura Schlessinger for encouraging me to embrace my strong conservative values. Her book is a treasure worth saving for an eternity. She supports my decision to be a mother and indirectly praises me for choosing to raise my own children.

Top of Form

Bottom of Form

 

 

Top of Form

Bottom of Form

 

 

Top of Form

Bottom of Form

 

Leave a Reply

